Vera Eagle MBE

1980 - 1982
BPW Australia President

1970-1972   Chairperson BPW Australia World Affairs

1975-1977       President BPW North Sydney

1980-1983       Member BPW International United Nations Committee

Clubs: BPW North Sydney, NSW and BPW Kyabram, Victoria

Occupation:   Senior Management Secretary

Vera Eagle was a member of BPW for approximately 30 years. 
During this period Vera was the Chairperson, World Affairs Committee for BPW Australia.  

Vera Eagle was committed to improving the level of education to both males and females. In 1982 when Vera was National President at the 23rd National Conference in Mackay, Queensland two resolutions were passed that:

  • That BPW Australia approach all State and Federal Education  Ministers and Departments to include in the Core Curriculum to Year 10 level such mathematics and science as will allow students, both male and female, to qualify for the greater majority, if not all, of TAFE and/or post-year 10 courses.
  • That BPW Australia approach all Boards of Education or equivalent bodies to have included in all courses of Teacher Education, both Primary and Secondary, core courses on Career Education which will enable teachers to guide students without sex-based information concerning subject choices and employment.

In 1985 Past President Vera Eagle and President Bev Perel produced a History of Clubs in BPW Australia which was written to coincide with the end of the International Women’s Decade 1975 – 1985.

Vera Eagle, as a delegate, attended many BPW International Congresses in London, Montreux, Washington DC, Auckland and Le Hague.

Whilst living in Melbourne, Vera commenced voluntary work with the Royal Children’s Hospital and was Life Governor and Vice President of the Central Auxiliary of the Hospital and her generous work was rewarded with an MBE.

Vera Eagle was a committed worker for a number of worthy organisations, including Legacy, UNICEF (as a Director for Australia); Country Women’s Association, PROBUS, Life Member of Torch Bearers for Legacy NSW, Friends of Sydney Hospital and was on the Board of the Sydney Eye Hospital.

Vera Eagle opening the 1982 BPW National Conference in Mackay, Queensland

Thank you to the women behind the BPW Australia Past President History Project:
Project Leader, Past President Marilyn Forsythe (2007-2013), 
Past President Kay Morrison (2004-2007), Margaret Tipper, BPWA Executive Secretary (2016+), Robyn Duncan (BPWA Public Officer), Trish Clifford (BPW Central Coast) and Jean Murray (Immediate Past BPWA Executive Secretary) for their assistance and research.  The Past President History will continue to expand as information becomes available about the National Presidents since 1947.  

Please submit further information and photos to

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software