Peg (Margaret) Dwyer

1970 - 1972
BPW Australia President

BPW Batman, (Club positions) President, Vice President, Secretary

BPW Australia Vice President

1965   BPWA Delegate to International Congress Washington

1971   BPWA Delegate to BPW International Congress Edmonton

1971-1974       BPW International Member Finance Committee

1977-1980       BPW International Member Finance Committee

Occupation:   Accountant

Peg Dwyer, an accountant, was keen to keep expenses down for BPW.  She accepted the responsibility of overseeing the running of the headquarters office in Melbourne for many years.

As President of AFBPW she sent joint letters to Federation Hon. Secretary (NSW) and Hon. Treasurer (WA). Communication was her ‘key word’ yet only once did Peg as President speak to Ruth Ross, as Secretary, on the phone.

Finances were very healthy, and to Peg Dwyer and her predecessors and her peers, we owe a deep debt of gratitude.

Clubs and Members:  100 Clubs

In the publication ‘The first 25 years of BPW Australia’ it is noted that:

 ”Peg Dwyer worked indefatigably for the Federation, its members and its aims. Under her leadership, continued progress had been made with the New Guinea project, and the Federation passed its century, now having more than 100 clubs”.

1970 to 1972 BPW Australia Board

President  Peg Dwyer

First Vice-President     Norma Young

Honorary Secretary       Ruth Ross

Honorary Treasurer     Miss Trixie Cheyne

State President Qld     Mrs M Duman

State President NSW     Mrs J Oldershaw

State President Vic   Mrs P Clark

State President SA     Mrs A Taylor

State President       Mrs G Addis    

Thank you to the women behind the BPW Australia Past President History Project:
Project Leader, Past President Marilyn Forsythe (2007-2013), 
Past President Kay Morrison (2004-2007), Margaret Tipper, BPWA Executive Secretary (2016+), Robyn Duncan (BPWA Public Officer), Trish Clifford (BPW Central Coast) and Jean Murray (Immediate Past BPWA Executive Secretary) for their assistance and research.  The Past President History will continue to expand as information becomes available about the National Presidents since 1947.  

Please submit further information and photos to

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software