Kay Morrison

BPW Australia President

2004-2007     BPWA President

2002-2004     BPWA National Treasurer

2001             BPWA Acting National Treasurer

1999-2002     BPW Coffs Harbour President

1985-1998     BPW Swan Hill President, Treasurer, Secretary          

Occupation:   Business owner / Consultant

                Board Member – various Government Boards  

Clubs:  BPW Swan Hill, Victoria  BPW Coffs Harbour, New South Wales

International Meetings attended:

2002 BPWI Congress, Melbourne

2005 BPWI Congress Lucerne, Switzerland

2006 BPWI Asia Pacific Conference, Seoul, Korea

2006 APEC Women’s Leader’s Network, Hanoi, Vietnam

2007 APEC Women’s Leaders Network, Port Douglas, Queensland

2005, 2006 & 2007 BPWNZ Conferences

Number of Clubs: 50 


2013 BPWA Life Membership

2013 BPW Jean Arnot Award for contribution to BPW

2014 BPW Coffs Harbour Life Membership


  • Preparation of a Strategic Plan in 2004
  • Structural and Constitutional Review of BPW and the preparation of a new constitution, passed BPWA National Conference 2007.
  • Personal Development programs introduced – Key Player Award; training for State Presidents and Representatives; extension programs for YBPW and an opportunity to participate in the Individual Development Program (IDP) from BPW USA.
  • BPWA signed an agreement with the Office for Women in 2005 for ongoing funding of $600,000 for the Women’s Secretariat, Security4Women (eS4W).  eS4W remained a key policy forum, submitting documents on Lifelong Learning; Women, Saving and Superannuation; Financial Literacy among Marginalised Women to Government.
  • Introduction of ‘BPW Women Today’ newspaper, providing a much more effective and exciting communication to all members
  • Introduction of the YBPW Board with the aid of a Leadership Grant, consisting of Young BPW members and giving them the opportunity to develop knowledge and skills about Board membership, plus development the ‘Board Establishment Resources Kit’.
  • BPW National Fertility Project led by Jean Murray, BPW Adelaide.
  • Special fund-raising program led by Faye Helou, BPW Woman of the Year 2004, for Project 5-0 in Thailand following the tsunami, Christmas 2004.
  • Raising the standard of BPWA management and member communication with the transfer of the administration of BPWA to a paid service provider. This introduced a member database, membership cards for all members, emailed monthly bulletins and access to an administrative help desk during business hours.
  • Online and automated member renewals, and access to the online Database.
  • New, more informative website, with Clubs being able to have their individual webpage.
  • Established a relationship with the National Foundation of Australian Women (NFAW) to enable tax deductible donations to the BPWA Agnes Robertson Fund.
  • Introduced the BPWA Beryl Nashar Award at a National level, with Jasmyn Mumme as the inaugural Award Winner.


  • Maintaining the profile of BPWA within the women’s NGO’s.
  • The perceived lack of relevance of BPW at a Club level.
  • A lack of leadership at Club/ Division level, with fewer members prepared to take leadership roles. This saw the closure of the Victorian Division, and the Queensland Division.
  • Motivating and guiding the Young BPW members.
  • With declining membership came reducing income.

What were the key issues of the day from a BPW perspective?

  • Paid Maternity leave was more on the national agenda at this time - it had always been a key BPW platform.
  • The issue of Equal Pay was becoming more widely discussed amongst the women’s alliances.
  • Work Life Balance issues, particularly for women.

BPW Board 2004 to 2007

President                   Kay Morrison

Immediate Past President            Judith van Unen

Secretary                                   Sheila Evans (2004-2005)

                                                Sharon Hill (2005-2007)

Treasurer                                  Julie Ross

Vice President External Policy      Yvonne Todd  

Vice President Internal Policy       Jasmyn Mumme

Vice President Communications    Jan Hardie (2004)

                                                Carmel Nola (2005 – 2007)

Young BPW Representative          Nicoletta Fawcett

Council members

QLD President                         Daphne Wool

NSW President                            Marilyn Forsythe

NT President                               Rita Harvey

SA President                               Gillian Lewis-Coles

TAS President                              Dr Jennifer Lemon

VIC Representative                       Kay Aarons

WA President                               Rochelle Bradley        



Julie Ross

Yolanda Lee

Daphne Wool

Constitutional and Structural Review:

Chair Marilyn Forsythe

Constitutional Review            

Chair Sheila Evans

Kaye Exell

Jean Murray

Judith Van Unen

Meryl Sexton

Elizabeth Grant

Structural Review

Chair Marilyn Forsythe

Mary Dean

Pat Harrison

Gillian Lewis-Coles

Jasmyn Mumme

Daphne Wool                                     

Task Forces:


Carmel Nola

Kay Aarons

Nicoletta Fawcett

Tsunami Appeal 

Faye Helou

IT Taskforce      

Michelle Harwood

Ann Tregea     


Thank you to the women behind the BPW Australia Past President History Project:
Project Leader, Past President Marilyn Forsythe (2007-2013), 
Past President Kay Morrison (2004-2007), Margaret Tipper, BPWA Executive Secretary (2016+), Robyn Duncan (BPWA Public Officer), Trish Clifford (BPW Central Coast) and Jean Murray (Immediate Past BPWA Executive Secretary) for their assistance and research.  The Past President History will continue to expand as information becomes available about the National Presidents since 1947.  

Please submit further information and photos to secretary@bpw.com.au

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software