Mary Callaway

BPW Australia President

1987 – 1990    BPWA Treasurer

1993 – 1996    BPW International Treasurer

1997 – 1999    BPW International Secretary

1995     BPW International Delegate UN Forum on Women, Beijing

Occupation:   Professional Accountant and Educator

Clubs:             Joined BPW in 1976

                        BPW Bendigo 1976 – 1986     

                        BPW Bathurst 1986 – 1987 

                        BPW Albury 1987 - 1991 

                Independent Member At Large 

          BPW Caboolture current

Positions at State Level

1984 – 1986 BPW Victoria, Second Vice-President

1984 – 1985 BPW Victoria Finance Officer Division
Employment project under Australian Govt. initiative

1986 – 1987 BPW NSW, State Councillor

BPW Australia National Conferences

1987 - 2016     Canberra 1987 to Geelong 2016

BPW International Conferences

1991 BPWI Congress Leader of Australian Delegation, Nairobi, Kenya

1993 BPWI Congress Nagoya, Japan 1993

1996 BPWI Executive member of Congress Venice

1999 BPWI Executive Member of Congress Vancouver  

Number of Clubs 

1987 166

1990 174


  • Output of the Executive being greater than its individual parts.
  • Quality of BPW Australia submissions to all relevant inquiries and topics.
  • Made submissions to topics where women in any circumstances in either business or professions could not make submissions themselves for whatever reasons i.e. we saw ourselves a leaders who had the skills and expertise  collectively to advance all women's lives not just our own immediate needs or advancement.
  • AFBPW Delegation Leader, BPWI Congress, Nairobi Kenya, 1991; Delegate, 1993 BPWI Congress Nagoya, Japan 1993.
  • Delegate, IFBPW to Commission of Status of Women NGO meetings, UN New York, March 1994
  • AFBPW Leader of Delegation to New Zealand Federation of Business & Professional Bi-Annual conference;
  • BPWA 1989, Guest of Soviet Women's Committee, Bi-Lateral talks between USSR and Australia NGO's.
  • BPWA  member of Minister for Small Business & Customs Small Business Forum and other Federal government consultative meetings


  • Geographically and time zone dispersed Executive and Council
  • How best to utilise the newly developing technology to gain efficiencies in operation
  • Building a cohesive and united team to concentrate on the BPW Australia external objectives of recognition and achievement of change in the lives of BPWA members and women in general in their individual situations.

Key issues of the day from a BPW perspective

  • Equal Pay and related submissions to National Wage Case and Australian Industrial  Relations Commission
  •  Profile raising of BPWA's voice in economic life of Australia
  • Related member education & engagement regarding Equal Pay
  • Revision of BPWA recruitment program
  • Working to take advantage of technology developments for better working of BPWA

BPW Australia Board 1990 to 1992

President                                 Mary Callaway

Vice-President, External Policy Elwyn Jones

Vice President, Internal Policy Di Manning

Vice-President, Communications Sharyn Cederman

Secretary                   Robyn Lucas

Treasurer                       Julie Banks

 Finance Officer   Dawn Farrington

 Immediate Past President Margaret Timpson

2014  Life Membership of BPWA

Mary Callaway comments in 2016:

The value of BPW, at all levels, lies in its capacity to bring together women from diverse backgrounds, businesses and economic roles into a cohesive lobby group for change; and, continuing to value and build upon the achievements of women leaders of the past, their contribution and hard work (mostly voluntary) to make the future a better place for women and girls locally, nationally and across the world.

Thank you to the women behind the BPW Australia Past President History Project:
Project Leader, Past President Marilyn Forsythe (2007-2013), 
Past President Kay Morrison (2004-2007), Margaret Tipper, BPWA Executive Secretary (2016+), Robyn Duncan (BPWA Public Officer), Trish Clifford (BPW Central Coast) and Jean Murray (Immediate Past BPWA Executive Secretary) for their assistance and research.  The Past President History will continue to expand as information becomes available about the National Presidents since 1947.  

Please submit further information and photos to

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software